User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-17-2007, 06:46 PM
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Grain Job?

A quick back story on me..I graduated Sage CDL school in Jan. 2006.
Since then I've dabbled in driving an expediter straight truck, and for the past year or so I have been moving trucks around for a couple local dealerships. So basically I haven't had much experience pulling a trailer.

Ok so recently I got an offer to run a daycab pulling a 41' hopper hauling grain for a local elevator. The runs will be from elevator to elevator. The boss said the pay is by the load, but when I asked what the loads usually paid he said it varied by where the load was going and he would have to look it up.
He was super busy the day he gave me my road test so I didn't press him for a better answer.
I make $8.00 an hour now moving trucks for the two dealerships(peanuts I know). I'm pretty sure I'll make more then that hauling grain.
Anyone ever pulled grain and was paid a percentage of the load? If so did you make out ok?

I start Monday or Tuesday(waiting on a truck to get fixed) so I guess I'll find out sooner or later, but figured I'd post here and see if i could get a ballpark idea.

BTW jacking a trailer around tight right hand turns on narrow little country roads is a little challenging to say the least..lol
Old 10-17-2007, 07:27 PM
Board Icon

Hauling grain from elevator, to elevator is a cake walk. I used to haul grain. I still do every so often, on the weekends, etc.

Most guys get so much cents per bushel. You might just have to ask. I dont have any figures right off hand. If they are paying you so much percentage of each load, it will probably vary according to the market price. Might have some ups, and downs in your pay.

Grain haulers can make pretty decent money hauling from the field to the elevator, especially corn.

http://watsonsysco.com/
Old 10-17-2007, 10:26 PM