User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-03-2007, 05:13 AM
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Getting square in a dock

I was an ltl road driver for a few years and then I drove a gas tanker for a couple of years, so I have never really had to bump docks. I recently got a new job where I have to hit docks all day. I do not have any problem getting into the spot, but for some reason the right corner of the trailer is always about 2 inches off the dock and the left is right up against it. It always looks straight when I'm done, but then go up on the dock it is not. If there are lines then I have no problem. I have tried different set ups with the mirrors to fix the problem, but its not working. Can someone please give me the secret. Its never a problem with the loading or unloading because its not that far off, but it is really a pride thing I guess. All help would be appreciated. Thanks.
Old 08-03-2007, 01:00 PM

Best solution,drive a flatbed.No docks involved.Sometimes have to back into a slot,but that is a piece of cake.
Old 08-03-2007, 01:54 PM
Senior Board Member

Two inches off the dock, on one side, is really not far off. If you care to know the math involved, it's an angle of roughly 1.1 degrees.

2"/102"=.0196078, tan(1.1233)=.0196078
Bear with me here, college was expensive and I occasionally like to think I learned something useful.

You probably just need to tweak your perspective a little bit. You're closer to the left mirror, so if the tractor and trailer are in a straight line, you should see almost directly down the left side of your trailer. Because the right mirror is further away, the angle is different, so the image in the right mirror should look like the trailer is slightly cocked to the right. It sounds like trying to see just a tiny bit more of the left side will give you what you're looking for.

(The preceding statement has not been evaluated by the FCC.)
Old 08-03-2007, 03:00 PM
Senior Board Member