User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-31-2007, 06:55 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default A newbie needs some advice...

I'm beginning my orientation with Trans Am next week. I am a recent TDI graduate living in Florida and have one careless driving ticket from a year and a half ago. Nothing else on MVR for over 14 years but I was turned down by Swift, CT and Schnieder. They all wanted 3 years clean MVR. Is anyone working for Trans Am and how do they like them? I'm a real newbie and I really wanted a regional route. Did most of you start out as OTR with big companies to get experience? Any tips or advice would be welcomed!
Old 05-31-2007, 08:06 PM
Senior Board Member

I guess I am not an unbiased opinion. My husband is quitting TransAm, effective when he gets into a terminal tomorrow.
It started out pretty good for us with TransAm, but lately they have been shorting his miles, messing with his hometime, leaving him out 3-4 weeks at a time, and refusing to reimburse a lumper fee because they "lost" the paperwork. His fleet manager says its not her, and that she really likes him.
He started out averaging 3000+ miles a week, $800-900 checks with per diem. The last month (excluding a week of hometime) his biggest check was $640, and he didn't see above 2500 miles....

Any more specific questions feel free to ask, and also I have a diary thread under what about this trucking company detailing our adventures with TransAm.
Old 05-31-2007, 08:23 PM
Rookie

I've read most of your diary, so we are prepared (mostly) for the good, bad and the ugly. This job is only to get experience and then, move on to green pastures. Has your husband got another job lined up?
Old 05-31-2007, 08:32 PM
Senior Board Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by mighty3
I've read most of your diary, so we are prepared (mostly) for the good, bad and the ugly. This job is only to get experience and then, move on to green pastures. Has your husband got another job lined up?