User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-19-2007, 06:49 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Can i get some advice please

I am new to the tucking industry, went to school for 15 days(not counting saturdays or sundays). I went with a campany right out of school for three months, during those three months, i was in training, (yes i know long time in training but had some personal issues at home and the trainers). I am at home now and i'm ready to go back, i love it out there on the raod. I dont want to sound like a wuss, But i am having fears of being on my own (not being able to back, puting my tandoms in th right place,) i'm sure its normal, but i was wonderin if i could get adivce how to over come my fears. Thanks!
Old 05-19-2007, 06:59 PM
Senior Board Member

just do it.

when I first started I worried I would mess up big. But every time I would "get in a jam" I would take a deep breath and think about how I would get out of it.

My best advice is take your time and think it out
Old 05-19-2007, 08:58 PM
Board Icon

Yes, it IS "normal." MOST of us have experienced the same thoughts or fears. This is gonna sound "corny," but.... Trust the FORCE, Luke!! :lol:

Your schooltime might have been a bit short, but that's not where you learn to drive anyway. You seem to have had adequate "training" time.

You SHOULD know by now how to perform the tasks. You just lack confidence. (That's why I say TRUST your training.)

This is where the sheet hits the fan, so to speak. It is now up to you to perform a task that you are now trained to do. I believe that you can and will DO IT, with little problem if you'll just relax and trust yourself and your training.

Never forget that almost ANY trucker out there will gladly HELP you, if you ask! But, YOU must conquer each task on your own, eventually, in order to "internalize" your training and comprehension.