User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-13-2007, 05:58 PM
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default White Collar guy considering driving

Hey guys. Ok, I'm sure that you've seen post similar to this. But, I'm wondering if there are any guys out there driving now that used to hold an office job. Right now, I'm a supply chain/shipping manager for a large company but I'm sick of sitting behind the desk. I've been interested in professional trucking as long as I can remember. However, my dad is a blue collar guy and he wanted me to do the college thing so I did. Now, I want a change. I'm 30, have a fiancee and she has a 8 year old girl. We are getting married in April. I am considering the industry. I've looked at Transport America. How do you guys feel about these guys for a beginner. I'm wanting someone that has good hometime. It seems that Transport America, Roehl, TMC, and Maverick are the front runners. Any more out there? I'm currently in Tucson, AZ but moving back to Huntsville, Alabama in 2 months. For you guys what used to be white collar, what did you do before and how do you like trucking? Thanks guys.

Anthony
Old 02-13-2007, 06:41 PM
Rookie

Hi Anthony,

Well I haven't started driving yet, but I am half way through school. I currently work for Ford Motor Co and going to retire at the end of this month. I will graduate from driving school March 2nd and hope to start orientation with a company (not decided yet) on March 12th or there about.

I have been in Bill of Material management for the past 10 years and various hourly and supervisory roles before that. I really miss being hourly and working for a living. I can't wait to get out from behind this desk and doing something with my hands again.

I am looking forward to my second childhood.

I think the best way to get into trucking is through a private school if you can afford it. It opens up a lot more options.

BOL
Old 02-13-2007, 06:55 PM
Board Regular