User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-15-2006, 01:49 AM
Board Regular
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Can someone PLEASE explain?

OK, why will a company hire a complete newbie for there training program that has absolutely no experience?
But, they won't take someone who has 5 years of local experience for the same training program?
All I would like Is for someone to explain this lame policy to me.
Old 12-15-2006, 01:57 AM
Senior Board Member

it is called the insurance company. the newbie just came out of an accredited school and will be assigned a trainer by the company to teach him/her. most big companies do not take local experience as OTR and somebody like yourself that knows how to drive will probably not subject yourself to a six week training program in the cab of a truck with another driver so the newbie wins out plus they can pay the newbie a lot less money
Old 12-15-2006, 02:07 AM

Most otr companies will not accept local work as experience and I believe xl is right insurance is the key. Plus they do not know if you can handle the mental part of being away from home and being in areas that you are not familiar with. I drove local for a while years ago and otr is a whole different animal
Old 12-15-2006, 12:17 PM
Senior Board Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by neverbeenlate
Most otr companies will not accept local work as experience and I believe xl is right insurance is the key. Plus they do not know if you can handle the mental part of being away from home and being in areas that you are not familiar with. I drove local for a while years ago and otr is a whole different animal
Why would a newbee have a better understanding of being away from home or not getting lost know more than a local driver who has tractor trailer experience.?

kc0iv
Old 12-15-2006, 03:22 PM