LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-08-2013, 10:31 AM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Trucker wives who go along

Hi,
I wasn't to sure where to put this one.
My I was wondering if there are any women on here who go along with there men on there trips and what it was like. Did you enjoy it. Stuff like that.
My husband is considering going into long haul but only if I go with him. We have no kids or major commitments here but its a big thing to do in my opinion.
Any info would be great.
Thanks!
Old 04-09-2013, 09:37 PM
Senior Board Member

hello ganton ~ sorry I can't answer this question from the position your speaking of. As a driver myself, and at some point in time I was driving with the love of my life ( now deceased) ... it's very ease to get on each others nerves.....Suggestion ~ *a short time you and your husband should put a tiny TV,crock pot, small amount of food for a week, a pot to pee in and a twin size bed ..when laying down to sleep - ask your husband to bump the mattress of your bed until you fall asleep.* ... Because there will times he'll have to drive all night and your going to climb into the sleeper and be bounced around the whole time. And if it's day time and he has to set at the shippers for a few hours to get unloaded, he'll want to lay down and take a nap - because as a driver you learn to grab all the cat naps you can ... but you'll be setting in the front seat quitely reading or knitting or blogging on your cell phone. With no place to go to the bath room and walk around due to the 'shady' area the shipper is located. You will get bored ... and if he doesn't get enough cat naps, he will wake up cranky and sweaty and you'll be the closes thing to take the bad attitude out on - that over tired drivers seem to get from time to time. ............. Now on the flip side of all of this - if you can set your sleep patterns with his - - stay up all night while he drives and only sleep when he does ... learn to read a Map and be help