User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-22-2008, 07:23 PM
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default I GOT A JOB!!!!!

I did! About a month ago (which is kinda why I disappeared for a while there)

I work for "Reliakor" property maintenance. I drive a street sweeper for a living. Elgin Pelican. I'll also drive the Elgin Eagle every now and then, don't need an A license for that (just a B) but it's still fun none the less.

Since these Pelican's have a top speed of about 11mph, gotta pull 'em around on a flatbed/tilt trailer (which is kinda scary to load)

So I drive a range of a few different dump trucks - two with automatics (300hp Cat's) two with 7 speeds (1 with a 260hp, and 1 with a 310hp, both cummins motors) and one tandem dumpy with 13 speed (not sure which motor, I didn't look at the sticker when I was doing my pre-trips)

I like truck # 442 - it's a 7-speed with the 260 cat, it's the slowest truck in the fleet, but he's my "buddy" this truck has personality, and it's the smoothest ride.

It's overnights, I work 7 out of every 14 days, got every other weekend off, and the pay is good. I do truly love this job!

so there's my li'l update.

--Dave.
Old 04-22-2008, 08:34 PM
Senior Board Member

Congrats, sounds like a gravy job! 8)
Old 04-22-2008, 09:14 PM
Senior Board Member

Way to Go Dave,

Thousands of people on welfare were counting on you. :lol: :lol:

Keep it up. :wink:

TW
Old 04-22-2008, 10:11 PM

It does sound like a gravy job - but like flatbedding, I'm responsible for securing my own load, which can be a bit stressful - but each time I load a sweeper, I find a better way to secure it, that takes less time, and ends up being more secure.