User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-16-2007, 10:30 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Another newb. grinding gears question!

Hi all,

I just wanted to ask how the pro's come to a stop light? Do you downshift through the gears? Do you just stop and then put the transmission in whatever gear you will be using to go again? I have tried both ways and always grind the gears. In fact it seems that everytime I go to put the truck in a gear it grinds, even in reverse. Is there a trick to putting the truck in gear. I feel like I am tearing up the trans in this truck and the thing doesn't even have 20,000 miles on it. Nearly every stop light I stop at, I just can't get this thing in gear easily, did I miss something in school?
Old 08-16-2007, 11:11 PM
Senior Board Member

im not a pro but i'll give you my opinions free of charge

Quote:
I just wanted to ask how the pro's come to a stop light? Do you downshift through the gears?
Yes. Why?? you will use the engine as a brake instead of using your air brakes to slow your tractor. doing this will save your brake pads

Quote:
Do you just stop and then put the transmission in whatever gear you will be using to go again? I have tried both ways and always grind the gears.
Practice, practice, practice!!!! watch your rpms and give yourself room to slowdown with out endangering other cars. After a month or so you'll be able to judge your rpms by ear and not looking at the tachometer.

Quote:
In fact it seems that everytime I go to put the truck in a gear it grinds, even in reverse. Is there a trick to putting the truck in gear.
Your clutch might needs adjustment, have your shop look at it.
Quote:
I feel like I am tearing up the trans in this truck and the thing doesn't even have 20,000 miles on it. Nearly every stop light I stop at, I just can't get this thing in gear easily, did I miss something in school?
it takes time to "master" the art of shifting.

are you double clutching or floating??