User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-09-2008, 08:05 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Horse trailer ?: Please help a poor ignorant novelist....

I have the utmost respect for you guys--the thought of being behind the wheel of a big rig just melts my spine. Now I need your help, if you can indulge me. I'm a NJ writer, in the middle of a novel about a young horseback rider. I have her driving a big LQ 3 horse slant-load rig for the first time, and she is upset and flips the rig. My questions, because thank God I have never been and will never be in such a position, is what might cause such an accident (I am thinking I will have her cut off by a little sports car on wet roads) and MOSTLY, what it feels like to have a gooseneck go out of control? If the rig flips, does the tow vehicle automatically go with it? What might an inexperienced driver do under the circumstances? The more details anyone can give me, the better.

I understand that if anyone has ever had this happen to them, they might not want to talk about it, and I totally respect that. I am deeply grateful for any info you guys can send my way.

With utmost thanks,
Molly
Old 05-09-2008, 10:36 PM
Senior Board Member

Most common would be like you said, except the vehicle hits a soft shoulder, starts going over, and the person "overcorrects" to the left immediately flipping the vehicle.
Old 05-10-2008, 12:32 AM
Senior Board Member

There are a lot of possible scenerio's for such an event.

Weather, road conditions, the number of animals in the carrier, wildlife, and traffic all can contribute.

Say it is a dark day..with intermittant rain and heavy cross winds, a multi-lane roadway with medium to heavy traffic, and three nervous animals in the carrier. Prime conditions for setting up a flip.