Trucker Forum - Trucking & Driving Forums - Class A Drivers

Trucker Forum - Trucking & Driving Forums - Class A Drivers (https://www.classadrivers.com/forum/)
-   Owner Operators Forums (https://www.classadrivers.com/forum/owner-operators-forums-105/)
-   -   Considering buying a truck. LOTS of questions. (https://www.classadrivers.com/forum/owner-operators-forums/30913-considering-buying-truck-lots-questions.html)

GoldiesPlating 11-24-2007 09:20 PM

Considering buying a truck. LOTS of questions.

Hey O/O's I'm considering purchasing a truck next year and have a few questions. I am currently a business owner NOW and know how to successfully run a business and I've also driven for TMC flatbed for a year. I LIKE driving OTR but want a little more freedom. My questions are as follows:

1- Better to Lease or Own?

2- As an O/O, is one free to choose his freight and how hard (or easy) one runs?

3- If you agree to haul freight for one company, for example TMC, are you limited to working ONLY for them?

4- What is the APPROXIMATE typical income average for an O/O after expenses?

That's it for now. I'm sure I'll have more and/or those replying will enlighten me to stuff I've never even considered. Thanks for looking.

allan5oh 11-24-2007 09:26 PM

Re: Considering buying a truck. LOTS of questions.

Quote:

Originally Posted by GoldiesPlating
1- Better to Lease or Own?

Own. Leasing is a last resort. If you lease because of bad credit, do not get suckered into those "revolving leases".

Quote:

2- As an O/O, is one free to choose his freight and how hard (or easy) one runs?
Totally depends on the company. Generally if you pay the insurance, there is no forced dispatch. Percentage companies usually have more of an open concept.

Quote:

3- If you agree to haul freight for one company, for example TMC, are you limited to working ONLY for them?
If you're under their authority and insurance, yes.

Quote: