User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-23-2007, 06:01 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default single mom w/10 year old

I am trying to decide the options of driving OTR and taking my son with me. If anyone can let me know if they know of a good company and their views. I have checked into homeschooling and at this point just looking for feed back
Old 03-23-2007, 06:18 PM
The Bat Cave
Board Icon

Here's a good recent thread for feedback about kids in trucks:

http://www.classadrivers.com/phpBB2/...ic.php?t=25732

Best advice you could take would be to "stay home." :?

Old 03-23-2007, 08:30 PM
Board Regular

I am a single driver, and carry my dog with me. While he most certainly is not a child, I can tell you there are plenty of days where I have sacrificed eating and sleep time to keep him entertained.

I am exhausted at times. My dog of course, will also lie down and go to sleep, a little more difficult to do with a 10 year old.

I don't believe what you are trying to do is feasible. I can understand wanting to make a better living for the two of you, but trust me, you don't have the time, or energy to homeschool and drive a truck.
Old 03-23-2007, 09:16 PM
Senior Board Member

Do yourself a favour, stay home for another 8yrs. He will be happier too.
Old 03-24-2007, 08:32 PM
Board Regular

I posted about this before but I will say it again, the best thing for a child is to have a normal, stable home life, kids need to have space to run around and play and have other children to play with and have a roof over their head everynight. The cab of a truck is no place for a child. I don't agree with this idea at all and I wouldn't do that to any child.