Trucker Forum - Trucking & Driving Forums - Class A Drivers

Trucker Forum - Trucking & Driving Forums - Class A Drivers (https://www.classadrivers.com/forum/)
-   Trucking Schools (https://www.classadrivers.com/forum/trucking-schools-31/)
-   -   Werner School (https://www.classadrivers.com/forum/trucking-schools/24355-werner-school.html)

Doughboy70 01-29-2007 07:22 PM

Werner School

Hey guys. I got accepted by Werner and they want to send me to school at Central Community College in Hastings, Nebraska. Has anyone heard about this school good or bad?

Big Jon 01-29-2007 07:49 PM

I haven't had experience at the school, but in doing some research (I'm a newbie here, too) I do know Crete takes their grads, so it's probably good enough to drop the $2,000.

Reason I say that... in talking to their recruiter, Crete was a little persnickety about what schools they will hire from, and prefer PTDI-certified schools "or equivalent." for hiring new drivers. Central is not PTDI-certified, but they are on Crete's "Nebraska Driving Schools" list. The other two are Southeast Community College in Lincoln and Metro Community College in Omaha.

I believe Werner also takes grads of JTL Driving School and Custom Diesel in Omaha. I imagine Werner would take Southeast and Metro, but they're longer timewise. I think Southeast is about 10 weeks, and Metro is 6-8 weeks. If I recall, Southeast was the cheapest, if you're not in a hurry and live, or can stay in, Lincoln for the duration of the class.

Good luck with Werner if you go that route.

Doughboy70 01-29-2007 07:54 PM

Thanks for the info Big Jon. Werner is my plan b choice as I am hoping to go with TMC. But if they don't hire me I might go with Werner. Do you think Crete would send me to school? I have heard they are a good company.

Pappa Jake 01-30-2007 12:15 AM

Werner School

Stay away from Werner, look for other options or companies.

Big Jon 01-30-2007 01:02 AM

Re: Werner School

Quote:

Originally Posted by Pappa Jake