User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-17-2008, 04:18 AM
Senior Board Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,514
Default 12-Volt DishNetwork Receiver?

anyone know where to find one of these?

or the best way to build one? Maybe take apart a AC/DC VCR and use the

built-in Inverter?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-17-2008, 07:20 AM
Malaki86's Avatar
Senior Board Member
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Mannington, WV
Posts: 4,486
Default

I'm sure that a non-DVR receiver would have very low power draw. Just use a small plugin power inverter. A 400 watt plugin inverter should easily power both a tv and a dish receiver.
__________________
My facebook profile: http://www.facebook.com/malaki86
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-17-2008, 03:47 PM
Senior Board Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,514
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Malaki86
I'm sure that a non-DVR receiver would have very low power draw. Just use a small plugin power inverter. A 400 watt plugin inverter should easily power both a tv and a dish receiver.

see there's the rub-- no inverters allowed over here at Heartland.

So, that sat pole(horn) sticking on the mirror-- would be a big 'red flag' that you're in violation of their policy.

I saw a Kvh- receiver-- seems they make them for Boats- 12volt receivers- just wondering now- if they would require some different dish/LNB antenna connection.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-18-2008, 12:11 AM
Malaki86's Avatar
Senior Board Member
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Mannington, WV
Posts: 4,486
Default

Not even one that plugs into a cig lighter? You're joking, right?
__________________
My facebook profile: http://www.facebook.com/malaki86
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-18-2008, 12:33 AM
Senior Board Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,514
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Malaki86
Not even one that plugs into a cig lighter? You're joking, right?
no joke---- none--- not even a small one with built in fuses etc-

isn't that something.... I can just see that policy working out for Heartland
over the next 10 years or so, LOL.----when all the 'old school' drivers finally retire-- and this new breed of truckers-- electronic crazy generation is all that's left-- non of them will be willing to drive for Heartland.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-18-2008, 09:08 AM
Malaki86's Avatar
Senior Board Member
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Mannington, WV
Posts: 4,486
Default

I called them once. I hung up when they said that they don't do ANY fuel stops on the road. All fueling is done in their terminals. I'd hate to see how many free miles you'd run for them.
__________________
My facebook profile: http://www.facebook.com/malaki86
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-19-2008, 06:48 AM
Senior Board Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,514
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Malaki86
I called them once. I hung up when they said that they don't do ANY fuel stops on the road. All fueling is done in their terminals. I'd hate to see how many free miles you'd run for them.
that's not 100% correct-- actually- if a terminal isn't on the routet(before you run out)-- you've got a very ...very limited fuel network of pre-approved 75gal max fuel stops (Pilots-mostly)-- else you must call fuel department and get a PO# for exactly X gallons at X fuel stop.

Yes, they got the Fuel purse strings well controlled---- hey, I can understand that-- and commend them on such an efficiently ran system.....

but can still bitch about not having enough shower credits(reward points) to keep clean!
Reply With Quote
Reply





Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT. The time now is 02:32 AM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.