User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-16-2008, 11:10 PM
Malaki86's Avatar
Senior Board Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Mannington, WV
Posts: 4,486
Default CoPilot 11 Truck

Well, ALK called me today to place my pre-order for the upgrade of my CoPilot from 9 to 11 (I guess since it took so long for the update they skipped version 10 completely).

The new version will be shipping on January 28th. They said they should have the website updated next week to show the new version. I'm interested to see what all they've done to it. The last time I talked to them they said they were doing a complete re-write of the program. Also, the new version is 100% Vista compatible if you're running that.

The best part is that I get the upgrade for free. The Live feature which they use as a selling point is just about worthless in version 9. I had people sending me messages and destinations and had no clue who they were. The people I had setup to track me, send messages, etc almost always ended up seeing someone else.

It did make for fun though when I would log onto my account, see me driving down a completely different highway on the other side of the country. I'd send a message asking where they were taking my truck, send them destinations in the middle of nowhere (northern Maine, northwest territory in Canada, etc.)

Anyway, just thought that people may want to look into it.
__________________
My facebook profile: http://www.facebook.com/malaki86
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-24-2008, 01:07 AM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Southern PA.
Posts: 80
Default

Hey Malakai, I just ordered co-pilot 11. it cost me $99.00 how did you get it free. I had both previous versions 4 and 9. they wouldn't work on my new throw away toshiba i just bought, thats now running vista. Also, did you ever upgrade to their new GPS reciever they say is better? just wondering if it is worth getting. going to put ms streets and trips GPS on also this week. do you know if that GPS receiver will work with co-pilot. Thanks for any info you can give.
__________________
"You gotta stand for something, or you"ll fall for anything."
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-24-2008, 11:12 AM
Malaki86's Avatar
Senior Board Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Mannington, WV
Posts: 4,486
Default

The only reason I'm receiving the upgrade for free is from my 30+ calls to tech support about problems with CoPilot 9, mainly in the Live features.

I have a 3rd party GPS receiver that is weatherproof and magnetic. It's mounted on a plate on the passenger side mirror. Since I've installed it, the only time I lose a signal now is when I go through a tunnel or under a long bridge.

The receiver is 100% compatible with everything I've thrown at it. I use Franson GPSGate, which will let you "create" virtual GPS ports, allowing you to use multiple GPS programs at the same time. I can have Streets & Trips, CoPilot, GooPS (an addon for Google Earth) and the GPS addon for Drivers Daily Log running all at the same time.

Even when I first purchased CoPilot, I only had the old-style receiver that came with my Streets & Trips 2005. It worked fine with it as well. The reason I bought my receiver from a 3rd party vendor is because the original S & T one finally gave out on me. It would jump me from one side of the continent to the other while driving down the road.
__________________
My facebook profile: http://www.facebook.com/malaki86
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-07-2008, 01:29 PM
Malaki86's Avatar
Senior Board Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Mannington, WV
Posts: 4,486
Default

Well, it's on the truck for delivery and should be here today. That works out good for me since my truck is in the shop for a new exhaust and will be finished for my run out this evening. Guess I get to give it a try this evening.

They still haven't updated their website for it. I'd like to have an idea of what they've changed...
__________________
My facebook profile: http://www.facebook.com/malaki86
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-08-2008, 11:26 PM
Malaki86's Avatar
Senior Board Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Mannington, WV
Posts: 4,486
Default

Still can't give much of a review on CoPilot 11...

I installed it yesterday and well, it won't run. When the program starts, that's it - nothing else. It won't even give the opening splash screen. I called their tech support and talked with the lead programmer. Apparently they're finding that some AMD 64-bit cpu's don't like it, even though the operating system is 32-bit.

My laptop has been needing a good formatting anyway, so I'm going to try it on a clean install.

While I was talking to him I asked a couple questions about things that I didn't see in the users manual, mainly the Custom POI's and the "Save Current Location". Well, it seems that they decided to remove these completely from CoPilot 11. However, he said that they've received over 1,000 complaints already about this and they are already working on an update to add them back in.

So, now to finish the formatting/reinstallation to see if I can get it to work...
__________________
My facebook profile: http://www.facebook.com/malaki86
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-09-2008, 01:04 AM
Malaki86's Avatar
Senior Board Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Mannington, WV
Posts: 4,486
Default

Well - it runs now - sort of.

I forgot to bring my gps receiver home with me, so I can't do a whole lot with it. Seems like not having a receiver attached causes it to crash. I might run to the truck tomorrow and grab it to see if that's the problem with it.
__________________
My facebook profile: http://www.facebook.com/malaki86
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-09-2008, 03:51 AM
Rookie
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: um whereever i am now, duh!
Posts: 22
Default

truly a pile of crap just my feelings about copilot who wants to leave their laptop on all the time buy copilot dnload it than return it for credit than buy a garmin and use the copilot just to check the garmins routing (truck routes)
__________________
i think my interests about sum it up
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-09-2008, 02:27 PM
Malaki86's Avatar
Senior Board Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Mannington, WV
Posts: 4,486
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rustylugzz
truly a pile of crap just my feelings about copilot who wants to leave their laptop on all the time buy copilot dnload it than return it for credit than buy a garmin and use the copilot just to check the garmins routing (truck routes)
Well, considering my laptop can do thousands of things that the Garmin can't - there's a start. I do my logs on it via Drivers Daily Log, I use the internet to check the weather, I use Google Maps for a satelite view of the destination, I use the internet for games, etc etc etc.

I turn my laptop on Sunday when I leave and shut it down Friday when I get home. It's never shut down on the road. Maybe a restart here or there, but it's always on and in use.
__________________
My facebook profile: http://www.facebook.com/malaki86
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-17-2008, 08:57 PM
Rookie
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 13
Default

I agree with rustylugzz. I have had a lot of problems with laptops on the road . And have to replace my motherboard and lcd screen. i had to replace a lcd screen on a friends HP pc twice over 2 year. They just can take the shaking.
Sorry to say it only a matter of time. I still have my lappy on the truck but its pack safely away. I got me a mio c230 for $160. you can plan out a route easily . Just use your atlas. Never rely on you gps software alone.
.
http://reviews.cnet.com/car-gps-navi...-32627128.html

Unlocked it will do much more
http://opop.wordpress.com/2008/02/17...for-my-mio-c23
__________________
OP




h
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-17-2008, 09:01 PM
Malaki86's Avatar
Senior Board Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Mannington, WV
Posts: 4,486
Default

My laptop has just passed the 2 year mark for riding in a truck. I've had absolutely zero problems with the hardware on it. It has had to be formatted and the software reinstalled, but that was from my doing, not the truck. With a rough guess, I figure I can get another 1-2yrs out of it in the truck.
__________________
My facebook profile: http://www.facebook.com/malaki86
Reply With Quote
Reply





Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT. The time now is 05:42 AM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.