User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-12-2006, 03:14 PM
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default laptop essentials?

hi there. i've recently returned to trucking and plan on getting a laptop for both entertainment and utility purposes. my budget is around 2K. my questions are:

1. is there a particular brand of laptop that has proven itself more sturdy and reliable over others?

2. what components should I get hardware wise? I have a sprint phone and the unlimited data plan now, but no idea of how to interface them. should I bother with a wireless card?

3. what software should I get?

4. how can I best protect my laptop while driving and what about those notebook stands i've seen that attach to the passengers seat? is there something cheaper and/or better? should I get a padded briefcase for carrying the laptop in and out of my truck?

5. what warranties should I consider?

I am a company driver and drive a 2003 columbia freightliner.

thank you in advance for any and all responses.
Old 12-12-2006, 11:01 PM
Senior Board Member
Default Re: laptop essentials?

Quote:
Originally Posted by fatman
hi there. i've recently returned to trucking and plan on getting a laptop for both entertainment and utility purposes. my budget is around 2K. my questions are:

1. is there a particular brand of laptop that has proven itself more sturdy and reliable over others?
I have an HP Pavilion DV8000 - have had now for about 10 months and it's been great. If you're not going to be doing high-end gaming or something else hardware intensive, you can go with a lower end computer in the 700-800 range at Circuit City/Best Buy.

Quote:
2. what components should I get hardware wise? I have a sprint phone and the unlimited data plan now, but no idea of how to interface them. should I bother with a wireless card?