User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 04-08-2008, 04:34 AM
Senior Board Member
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,514
Default

I was thinking, if it still doesn't work out very well for watching tv remotely- I might just bring it out on the truck with me and hook it up to a camera- and stream live video out to whomever wanted to watch me go down the road...or i should say--watch the mile posts go by.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 09-25-2008, 05:54 AM
Senior Board Member
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,514
Default

Having a problem with mine-- I can't find it( remotely --via the internet) .. don't know why it suddenly quit working...guess I'll have to trouble shoot it when I get home.
__________________
I'd like to invite you all to visit and join
my new message board at:
http://drivers-lounge.proboards.com
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 09-25-2008, 12:56 PM
Rookie
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 26
Default

Does anyone use TV tuner USB cards with ther laptops? If so how do they work?
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 09-25-2008, 02:40 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 86
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by finger_lakes
Does anyone use TV tuner USB cards with ther laptops? If so how do they work?
After 10 months on the road, trying to watch TV on my laptop using my aircard (AT&T) once in a blue moon when I have a strong-enough 3G signal that it actually works, I finally broke down this week and ordered a Diamond ATSC HDTV usb tuner for my laptop. I go back out tomorrow for a couple of weeks and will try to remember to give a report on how well it works for me.

I had to get a Cardbus USB2 adapter since my Dell Inspiron is an older model that only has USB1.1 onboard, so that increased the price a little. Even so, the tuner (approximately thumbdrive form factor) plus adapter only ran about $100, and I don't have to carry yet another appliance in the truck.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 09-25-2008, 04:09 PM
Malaki86's Avatar
Senior Board Member
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Mannington, WV
Posts: 4,486
Default

I used to run a tv tuner in my truck. It worked fine, but most of the time I'm in areas that are lucky to have a telephone, let alone any tv channels I could pick up.

Besides, almost everything I watch is on HBO, Showtime, Discovery or History channels, so the tuner didn't help out.

The tuner did fine though. I had no issues with it. If your laptop is a little old, the picture may be a little jumpy. My laptop was a 2ghz AMD and the picture was perfect.
__________________
My facebook profile: http://www.facebook.com/malaki86
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 10-05-2008, 11:07 PM
Senior Board Member
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,514
Default

Got my sling box working again. Funny thing is- I was out on the road and called the little mrs. and was trying to trouble shoot the problem on the phone. I was accusing the (grown adult- child- still freeloading off us) of messing with the router-- as he often claims my Slingbox hogs all the bandwidth on our broadband. I remember specifically asking her to track down the ethernet cable and let me know if it was unplugged or something. I assumed she'd notice the fact that the cable was damaged where it got shut in the door jam repeatedly. But guess not! Anyway, I drilled a hole in the wall and passed it through there-- another somewhat better temp solution. But it works again!
__________________
I'd like to invite you all to visit and join
my new message board at:
http://drivers-lounge.proboards.com
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 10-05-2008, 11:15 PM
dobry4u's Avatar
Senior Board Member
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Midwest
Posts: 1,285
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by headborg View Post
I was accusing the (grown adult- child- still freeloading off us) of messing with the router-- as he often claims my Slingbox hogs all the bandwidth on our broadband.

I have one of those....too bad they don't make an income from blowing up terrorist :rolleyes:
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 10-05-2008, 11:59 PM
Senior Board Member
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,514
Default

and World of Warcraft, Halo, and all the others....and GuitarHero
__________________
I'd like to invite you all to visit and join
my new message board at:
http://drivers-lounge.proboards.com
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 10-18-2008, 01:39 AM
Senior Board Member
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,514
Default

Hey, just got an update of the Slingbox Software.. this Version 2 makes the image quality much better-- and since they've increased the slight delay ( so you can pause the "live" tv- rewind it- and all that-- the video streaming is improved as well. No more-- hanging up when you have a weak aircard signal- it's still not the greatest-- but a great improvement.
__________________
I'd like to invite you all to visit and join
my new message board at:
http://drivers-lounge.proboards.com
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 10-21-2008, 11:08 PM
vavega's Avatar
Senior Board Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: new jersey
Posts: 622
Default

malakai

have you tried orb? check out the hardware requirements listed under download. it's not for everyone, but it's free.
Reply With Quote
Reply





Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT. The time now is 01:56 AM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.