User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-26-2012, 07:59 PM
Senior Board Member
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Replacing King Pins

I know I’ve seen a post on here on the same topic, but I couldn’t find it, so here goes…

My tractor (2006 Pete 387) is no spring chicken (858k miles), and as I’ve been experiencing some unusual steer tire wear (yes, it is properly aligned and I have Road King shocks and Centramtics and Tru-Balance wheel centering sleeves), thought I might try replacing the king pins. My problem is that I’ve never done this before and don’t want to turn a minor problem into something major and very expensive. Given that I have my own shop and, while I’m no mechanic I am a pretty accomplished parts-swapper, should this job be easily within the scope of my abilities, or should I go down to my local Cummins dealer and let them rape me like they usually do?

If I embark on this adventure, how much time should I plan on it taking? Any suggestions on where I might get more reasonably prices parts than what Peterbilt will offer? Any non-standard tools I might need? Any tips, tricks or suggestions anybody can offer would be greatly appreciated.
Old 08-26-2012, 08:19 PM
Senior Board Member

I just did my kingpin job. Keep in mind it is a decent job. Have you done wheel bearings and wheel seals before?

Special tools:

- Wheel nut removal tools, preferably air
- Large nuts to remove outer bearings
- Pickle fork
- Kingpin installer tool
- Kingpin bushing installer tool (kaiser makes one for their spiral bushings if you go that route)
- Brake shoe removal tool (or large pliers)
- I highly recommend Kaiser qwik-kit kingpins
- Dial indicator for setting up wheel bearings
- Wheel seal driver

Parts:

- Kingpin kit
- Wheel seals
- Outer wheel hub gasket
- Lots of grease (two tubes easily)
- Some oil to fill bearings

Optional parts if you want:

- Tie rod ends
- Drag link
- Brake shoes
- Brake drum
- S-cam
- S-cam bushings
- Slack adjuster

Remove: