User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-18-2008, 12:29 AM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)

Not meaning to hijack the thread. But, I have been thinking about trying out Praxair for a few simple reasons. It's so close to home I can walk to work. I am currently commuting an hour to work. And from what I have heard the pay is awesome. I have been driving for 3 years and do have all endorsements. But. I do not have any tanker or hazmat experience. Will they still consider me? Also, at least in my area I noticed they have both their own drivers plus have drivers hired through Ryder running loads for them. So, any input you can give me would help. Thanks.

To add, and I have a clean driving record. I am 35 and haven't had a ticket since I was 18. (knocks on wood)
Old 08-18-2008, 01:09 AM
Senior Board Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by fordwheeler
Not meaning to hijack the thread. But, I have been thinking about trying out Praxair for a few simple reasons. It's so close to home I can walk to work. I am currently commuting an hour to work. And from what I have heard the pay is awesome. I have been driving for 3 years and do have all endorsements. But. I do not have any tanker or hazmat experience. Will they still consider me? Also, at least in my area I noticed they have both their own drivers plus have drivers hired through Ryder running loads for them. So, any input you can give me would help. Thanks.

To add, and I have a clean driving record. I am 35 and haven't had a ticket since I was 18. (knocks on wood)
Until you sit down with them and talk, you will never really know if they will train you...but..I would say yes. You don't have any nasty "Haz-Mat" habits to drag behind you...which most companies like.
Old 08-18-2008, 03:13 AM
Local Advocate
Senior Board Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smooth