User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-13-2008, 03:56 PM
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Best dry van or reefer company out there?

I live on the North side of Houston and am looking for the best dry van or reefer company out there. I am looking for the most miles, best pay, and a reliable company. Benefits are not that important. I can stay out at least 3 weeks at a time. I have over 20 years driving experience, both local and OTR, and have driven solo and team. I am open to either solo or team as I have a friend that is willing to drive teams with me, we have driven teams before. I am open to a lease purchase program and I do realize that they are not always the best, I probably would prefer to start out as a company driver first and then explore leasing or purchasing a truck later. I do have hazmat and tanker endorsements but would prefer to drive dry van or reefer. Thanks in advance for your responses and keep it safe out there.
Old 04-13-2008, 05:08 PM
Board Regular

Wal-Mart or most private carriers
Old 04-13-2008, 05:51 PM

That os an impossible question to answer. There is a perfect company for everyone, but what works for me might suck for you. SInce home time isn't that important, you open yourself up to just about every company. Since benefits aren't important, you can also look hard at smaller "family" fleets. Yours is to gifure out what you want and look hard for it (ask a lot of questions.)

Personally, I always felt more comfortable on small fleets where I was a name and not a number. Always made great miles always made good money (generally on percentage which is, IMO, the way to run.) But some days I'd be sitting at some DC for hours wishing I pulled for one of the larger carriers whose trucks were running in, doing 15 minute D/H's and rolling again. So, everything is a trade off.