User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-28-2006, 11:58 PM
Senior Board Member
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default ADD and Trucking

Hello all. I have been driving for nine yrs now and recently a buddy of mine got into this business. After completing his CDL school he went to work for a company I will not name names. Anyways, after he went through orientation and was waiting for his drug screen to come back he got a call from the company Doc. They found a amphetamine in his urine. He told them that he was on a medication for ADD called Metoamphetamine. He gave the Doc all the info on his Doc's name and phone number and told him if he had any questions he could contact him. Well, the company Doc did not fail his drug test but the company denied him employment due to the fact of the medicine and his ADD. He asked me if they could deny him employment based solely on that fact and I didn't know but I guess it is so. What do you feel about this? Is ADD a DOT disqualification?? Where can I find it written?? I have looked in the little green book and I did not find anything on it. Doesn't mean it is isn't there I just could not find it. Any help would be appreciated.
Old 09-29-2006, 03:43 AM
Senior Board Member

ADD/ADHD is not a DOT disqualification, however some companies have prohibitions against drivers taking certain medications while operating company equipment due to the medications possibly causing unsafe conditions or allowing illegal drug use to be disquised.

Companies are not allowed to deny employment soley because of race, religion, gender and age (and sexual orientation) but they may because of health reasons and/or medication use if they believe it may interfere with the ability to do the job.
Old 09-29-2006, 03:58 AM
Board Regular
Default good luck

good luck
Old 09-29-2006, 02:42 PM
Senior Board Member

Quote:
Well, the company Doc did not fail his drug test
He passed the drug test after contributing supporting information to the doctor.