User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-11-2012, 02:48 AM
Board Regular
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Southern Oregon I-5 Shoulder Driving

Where in the Oregon DOT Regulations states it is legal to drive on the shoulder of I-5 in Southern Oregon uphill grades? I know this will probably start a firestorm, but I have been driving Oregon for 20 years and no one has ever stated the Oregon law that makes this legal. There are no signs or markers on I-5 that indicate that this is allowable. In every other state and province I have driven this is NOT legal except in Washington where there is signage and it is daytime use only.

Please backup your answer with documented facts.
Old 08-12-2012, 02:49 AM

there was a time when the truck driver was the hwy law, think we made that law then. now why bitch about the one and only one thing in Oregon that is right by the trucker
Old 06-21-2015, 06:50 PM
Board Regular

Last year, ODOT finally constructed a third lane for trucks and slow moving vehicles on I-5 Northbound for the Sexton Mountain Pass. This spring ODOT repaired a part of the hillside with additional rock for drainage and erosion prevention.

http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/GOVREL/Pa...ing-lanes.aspx
http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/HWY/REGIO...ale-hugo1.aspx

Please note in the webpages mentions that trucks, or some trucks, use the shoulder to navigate the Southern Oregon passes. But, the pages do not say it is legal and do state that it creates additional maintenance as the the shoulder was not design as a travel lane.

Perhaps someday the other parts of Southern Oregon I-5 will receive the necessary funding complete this much needed safety improvement to the highway.

BTW even with the third lane on I-5 Northbound, there are STILL trucks that run the shoulder! Yes, this is a major annoys of mine. :-(
Old 06-21-2015, 08:53 PM
Senior Board Member