User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-26-2009, 05:20 PM
Senior Board Member
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)

It has always been my understanding, that when a driver is "away from the HOME terminal", his assigned tractor can be used for personal conveyance, as long as there was not a trailer attached.

That was how it was treated back in the 70's and 80's, and how my last "company" job and my current "lease" position treat(ed) the situation.
Bobtail the tractor as far as you want "off duty not driving", but if there is a trailer on the unit, loaded or empty, every mile had to be logged.

Did you ask the TMC log department what their preference is Terry??
Old 03-27-2009, 12:48 AM
Senior Board Member

I am no longer with TMC, I quit about 7 months ago to run a Martial Arts School, which failed and now I am with ATS. I didn't ask. I found my own solution. I am not a company driver. I am a Lease Operator.
Old 03-27-2009, 01:14 AM
Senior Board Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by terrylamar View Post
I am no longer with TMC, I quit about 7 months ago to run a Martial Arts School, which failed and now I am with ATS. I didn't ask. I found my own solution. I am not a company driver. I am a Lease Operator.
Ouch Terry!!

Let us know how you do on the lease!

If you manage to actually end up owning the truck...let us know that as well!

As for the question you asked......I already told you my experience with that situation.
Old 03-27-2009, 02:22 AM
Senior Board Member

Yeah, I needed a job and no one was hiring. Going Lease Operator was the fastest way to get a job. I didn't have the magical two years experience, I had only 20 months with TMC.

I did a lot of research. I couldn't find anything, specifically, bad about the Lease Operator proggram with ATS. It is a truc Lease Program not a Lease Purchase Program, allthough at the end of your lease you are given the opportunity to buy your truck. I already know the cost.