Trucker Forum - Trucking & Driving Forums - Class A Drivers

Trucker Forum - Trucking & Driving Forums - Class A Drivers (https://www.classadrivers.com/forum/)
-   Owner Operators Forums (https://www.classadrivers.com/forum/owner-operators-forums-105/)
-   -   becoming an owner operator (https://www.classadrivers.com/forum/owner-operators-forums/37638-becoming-owner-operator.html)

TonyB82 04-13-2009 02:37 AM

becoming an owner operator

hi, i have been driving for two years now and have always wanted to own my own business and the idea of owning my own truck has always been of interest. i'm just wondering if there is a website or message board that can offer me advice with getting into either leasing or just flat out financing my own truck. i see people talking about having their own authority. i currently drive for usxpress but have also had experience wth schneider national as well.

is it better to start as a lease operator or become a contractor with a major company? all advice is welcome

matcat 04-13-2009 03:01 AM

I would start off by doing a search on this forum for 'lease op' that will give you plenty of education on leasing!

matcat 04-13-2009 03:03 AM

If you have the means to finance a truck yourself, then that is the much better bet. I don't want to get too deep into leasing, because there is so much on this forum on the topic already, but basically if you lease from a carrier you will be in an uphill battle, plus you are stuck with that carrier for the term. If you can finance it yourself, you are free to take that truck to any carrier you want.

GMAN 04-13-2009 09:33 AM