Trucker Forum - Trucking & Driving Forums - Class A Drivers

Trucker Forum - Trucking & Driving Forums - Class A Drivers (https://www.classadrivers.com/forum/)
-   Owner Operators Forums (https://www.classadrivers.com/forum/owner-operators-forums-105/)
-   -   owner operator wanna be (https://www.classadrivers.com/forum/owner-operators-forums/34133-owner-operator-wanna.html)

cadriver 06-03-2008 07:22 PM

owner operator wanna be

I have been driving class A for 2 years but only have 7 months OTR experience, I was wondering which companies would be best for me as an owner operator.

BigDiesel 06-03-2008 07:35 PM

Re: owner operator wanna be

Quote:

Originally Posted by cadriver
I have been driving class A for 2 years but only have 7 months OTR experience, I was wondering which companies would be best for me as an owner operator.

Do you have a business plan ??? Cash reserves ?? Good credit ???

But 7 months OTR experience is the biggest problem....

allan5oh 06-03-2008 07:38 PM

We don't know a damn thing about you, we cannot answer that.

1) Do you want to pull reefer/van/flatdeck/rgn?

2) Where do you live?

3) Where do you want to run?

4) Are you legal for Canada?(no arrests or DUI's)

5) What kind of equipment do you have (if any?)

6) Do you have good credit?

7) Do you have border crossing experience?

8) Do you have mountain crossing experience?

9) Do you have any accidents/tickets/violations?

10) What are your expectations as far as pay?

11) Are you going to buy your own truck or go through a lease program?

These are just a small example of the kind of information we need.

Start contacting smaller local companies, I prefer them best. Under 500 trucks. They should have someone that deals with o/o's directly. Ask him about the pay package, what you're liable for(insurance, etc..), forced or non-forced dispatch, and ask him to fax you a copy of the contract.

You'll find a lot of companies probably aren't even hiring.

Mackman 06-03-2008 09:01 PM

Quote: