Trucker Forum - Trucking & Driving Forums - Class A Drivers

Trucker Forum - Trucking & Driving Forums - Class A Drivers (https://www.classadrivers.com/forum/)
-   Owner Operators Forums (https://www.classadrivers.com/forum/owner-operators-forums-105/)
-   -   Cash or loan for truck? (https://www.classadrivers.com/forum/owner-operators-forums/26081-cash-loan-truck.html)

motomorph 04-03-2007 01:29 PM

Cash or loan for truck?

I have been driving for a few years now and would like to become an o/o. I have about $20k for a truck and I was wondering if I should buy my current boss' 1989 Western Star with a 3406B cat :D for $18K, which I have all service records for; Or should I put money down on a more aerodynamic newer truck? Western star has about 100k on rebuilt engine, new rubbers all the way around, new seats, and much more. Any info would be appreciated.

Truckdobe 04-03-2007 05:04 PM

I'd buy the Star; they're good trucks, it's got one of the best motors ever built and you know the truck. CASH is always the way to go. In '89 it may be geared a little slow, but they can get decent fuel mileage if driven properly.

tootie04 04-03-2007 06:23 PM

I would go for the star too....you know the truck and that is a real PLUS!! I dont know if I would spend all my capital on the truck though....do you have other money set aside on top of the 20K ??

tootie

Truckdobe 04-03-2007 06:32 PM

Everyone should always strive to have at least 3-6 mos of expense put away. Even more so if you have an income that fluctuates, but I'd still rather spend the cash on the truck, it's easier to put it back if you're not making payments and if anything happens and you are down you don't have that nagging payment to deal with.