User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-16-2011, 01:53 PM
Senior Board Member
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Step-deck, RGN DD or what?

I’ve been considering adding a trailer and I think that with regulations being what they are, I want to move into a niche where the number of miles you drive is less important than what it is in the reefer segment of the market we’re in now. I really don’t want to go back to enclosed auto transport, so that leaves Step Deck or DD RGN. I readily admit that in all the areas of trucking, I have the least experience with these segments of the market. Years ago I drove a flatbed for the water and sewer division of Hughes Supply, but that’s as close to RGN or step deck as I’ve ever come. I have some experience in securing equipment with chains and binders and have lots of experience strapping all kinds of loads. I’m leaning toward RGN because of the close proximity of equipment manufacturers to my residence, and I have little desire to be inconvenienced with tarping loads.

I know I’m taking a risk by moving into something completely unknown to me, but I’m pretty sure I can fumble my way through with cash on hand and with the sagacious advice I know I will get from experts here on CAD.

My first set of questions is about equipment options. I have a ’06 Pete 387 with a 565HP / 1850 ft*lb ISX (EGR programming hacked out) with 12k front and 36k rears running on LP 22.5 tires. Obviously I’m not set up for doing any serious heavy hauling, but would it still be worth buying a DD RGN with a flip up third axle? What would my max gross be in that situation? What about an expandable RGN? They are a bit pricier and without trading in my reefer (which I want to keep for now because it’s paid for and valued at about $26k) I would have to get a little financing to swing the $70k+ price tag they carry. I’m thinking the best way to go would be with something like the following I’ve seen for sale for $46k: