User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-10-2007, 12:54 AM
Board Regular
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Round table landstar drivers.I need your help

So must of you know I am a newbie driver who quit hauling containers and got on with Landstar.Landstar is pretty rough in starting out and in these difficult times as far as freight is concerned, where do you guys usually run and please don't tell me Florida.I have been there twice and I am never going back until freight picks up.I have my own base plate that covers 25 states(mostly east coast)Should I try running VA(west royal with agent NTO) or should I set my load alert towards Chicago and it's 300 miles radius from GA?Maybe Ga-TX and then to Chicago which will then bring me home?
I live in atlanta and though I hate the traffic here, this place has more paying freight than places like NC, AL and FL.Please correct me if I am wrong.I have been offered a dedicated run on thursdays/fridays from Ga to NC and 4 stops in between paying about $950 gross which is a 450 mile run.I still want to keep my options open.
I am not making what I was making when I hauled containers but I know brighter days will come and I am willing to learn their system.
Old 03-10-2007, 05:27 AM
Senior Board Member

Florida doesn't make anything, therefore freight doesn't pick up there...unless you pull a reefer :lol:
Old 03-10-2007, 08:32 AM
Board Regular
Default Florida

It is funny how they do not produce anything coming out of FL.Maybe they just trade more among themselves down there because I see more loads within FL than anything coming out.I see many $1/ mile Gross(which is 66cpmto my truck) and I am sorry I cannot run for that when my 2290 and base plate is costing me $2100/yr.I drove from Conover,NC to Sarasota, FL( at 1.88cpm gross).I waited a day without any good loads and just dead headed back to GA which was 450 miles.Birmingham was even worse about a month ago when I tried to find something coming out of there.