Trucker Forum - Trucking & Driving Forums - Class A Drivers

Trucker Forum - Trucking & Driving Forums - Class A Drivers (https://www.classadrivers.com/forum/)
-   New Truck Drivers: Get Help Here (https://www.classadrivers.com/forum/new-truck-drivers-get-help-here-102/)
-   -   Chaining up (https://www.classadrivers.com/forum/new-truck-drivers-get-help-here/4697-chaining-up.html)

Lady18wheels 09-26-2004 06:09 AM

Chaining up

Are you willing chain up to keep the appointment/scheduled delivery?

crazytex 09-26-2004 06:23 AM

being a rookie, my opinion isn't worth much but unless the load is dispatched with a time allotment for it I dont think you can keep an appointment even if you do have to chainup......

IT's all about SAFETY FIRST

as long as I make it safely to my next hometime, I'll do what it takes.....

Doctor Who 09-26-2004 01:17 PM

Yeah SAFETY FIRST...

If the road condition requires chains, it's time to park the wagon. No load is worth the risk of killing oneself or some other self!!!

dnc915 09-26-2004 02:55 PM

Chains

Yeah if I have to Chain I am parking and going to bed. Chains are not worth the risk factor to go 15 M.P.H

jezebelle1458 09-26-2004 03:00 PM

I'll chain up to get out of a situation or to get to the nearest safe place to park it.No load is worth my life(despite what the dispatcher says).

Tinman 09-26-2004 03:02 PM

a newbie here of course...

wondering what your company or dispatch would say if you told them that youre not going to make it due to this weather... would you all of a sudden start getting the crap loads?

also, if the weather is really bad enough that we *drivers* have to have chains on, will the company that we are delivering to still be open... i would think that they would probably be closed as well...

Tinman

mstweety 09-26-2004 03:03 PM

re:

Throwing chains is just not worth it.
Park the thing. I have used a chain to gain a little traction but only for getting out of a spot.