Trucker Forum - Trucking & Driving Forums - Class A Drivers

Trucker Forum - Trucking & Driving Forums - Class A Drivers (https://www.classadrivers.com/forum/)
-   New Truck Drivers: Get Help Here (https://www.classadrivers.com/forum/new-truck-drivers-get-help-here-102/)
-   -   Looking for a recomendation on who to go with. (https://www.classadrivers.com/forum/new-truck-drivers-get-help-here/44866-looking-recomendation-who-go.html)

runwme 08-08-2014 10:42 PM

Looking for a recomendation on who to go with.

I was a driver / race team mechanic for 18 years pulling tag along trailers with rvs (no cdl) all over the country. After that I took over as service manager for a auto dealership and while the $$ is good, I miss being on the road. I went to 160 hr cdl school finishing top of class and now wondering what would be the best first step for my driving career.

About me..
45 clean cut non-smoking fit professional with strong work ethic
Single with a grown child so long hauls ok.
Hazmat, doubles/triples / tanker endorsements.
28 years driving having never been in accident at fault or otherwise ( knock on wood)
No arrests or traffic violations other than expired tags 15 yrs ago
18 years experience pulling /working on race cars ( no- cdl)

I was thinking Team driving running east/west coast hauling produce may be a good way to start learning the intricacies of driving while teamed with an experienced driver.

What do you guys suggest?

repete 08-09-2014 12:15 AM

I take it you didn't apply to any companies while in school? Thats the best time cause most co. will give you a pre-hire letter so you atleast have an idea of whats what. Don't waste any time now that your out of school, that cdl has a short shelf life! Just put in an app. here on CAD in the job section and go from there.

runwme 08-09-2014 12:30 AM

Thats the problem, put in an app with whom?