Trucker Forum - Trucking & Driving Forums - Class A Drivers

Trucker Forum - Trucking & Driving Forums - Class A Drivers (https://www.classadrivers.com/forum/)
-   New Truck Drivers: Get Help Here (https://www.classadrivers.com/forum/new-truck-drivers-get-help-here-102/)
-   -   Getting Out (https://www.classadrivers.com/forum/new-truck-drivers-get-help-here/40729-getting-out.html)

chain binder 12-19-2010 12:57 AM

Getting Out

Ladies and Gentlemen it has been fun,but a time comes for the fun to stop.I have been driving for 10 years,mainly flatbeds.The company I was driving for Carlisle is a great company.I hauled a load to their Fairbanks terminal about a month ago.While there I feel off the top of the load and tore myself up pretty good.I am healing,and will recover.Have an oppurtunity to start my own small business and I am taking it.Going to start a Mobile Oil Changing business.Will keep in touch.Everyone take care.MERRY Christmas

Malaki86 12-19-2010 01:12 AM

Best of luck to you in your new ventures. May the money roll in well for you.

bentstrider 12-19-2010 05:47 AM

As bad as your spill sounds, the mobile oil-change thing sounds like a good deal, especially up in those parts.

Steel Horse Cowboy 12-20-2010 12:47 AM

I have been contemplating either opening my own garage or selling the rig and buying a wrecker and doing that. This OTR is taking it's toll on me, and I can't seem to start a family since all the women leave cuz I'm never home.... LOL

strawberryrhubarbpie 12-21-2010 03:11 PM

I was born in Fairbanks, but I grew up in the interior of Alaska. They are experiencing some really cold weather right now. My dad lives there now, and my mom lives even further north. Anyway, I think that any time you have a chance to work for yourself, go for it. You might put in twice as many hours into it, but when it's yours it feels good. You are not pouring your heart and sweat into someone else's paycheck. Good luck!

freebirdrfd 12-23-2010 07:26 PM