Trucker Forum - Trucking & Driving Forums - Class A Drivers
You're on Page 1 of 2
Go to

Trucker Forum - Trucking & Driving Forums - Class A Drivers (https://www.classadrivers.com/forum/)
-   New Truck Drivers: Get Help Here (https://www.classadrivers.com/forum/new-truck-drivers-get-help-here-102/)
-   -   recent graduate seeks opinions... (https://www.classadrivers.com/forum/new-truck-drivers-get-help-here/29896-recent-graduate-seeks-opinions.html)

ceehound619 09-26-2007 10:50 PM

recent graduate seeks opinions...

Here is my story. I graduated Class A school with my CDL on Sept 5. I have all endorsements(no restrictions) and a clean driving record. I have a stable work history, good references and even some prior Class B experience. HOWEVER.. I have FAILED so far at finding a local Class A job... I probably have over 50 resumes/applications out there.... I am not even getting calls from the temp agencies.... I am ASSUMING this is due mainly to my LACK of experience.... so I have decided I am going to have to put in my dues OTR for a year at least to get some experience... THEN maybe I can get a decent local job....(local due to my young kids) I have narrowed things down so far at this point to Gordon/schneider/US Express and Werner...are there any OTR companies that I should stay away from??? and which companies do you think are the best out of the ones I listed??? Any help/advice would be GREATLY appreciated... THANKS in advance. ( ps.. I am in the San Diego, CA area)

Uturn2001 09-26-2007 11:36 PM

Out of the ones you listed Gordon would be the way to go.

Have you applied with ABF. They hire and train new drivers.

Jeff McNabb San Diego CA 91911 875 Energy Way (619) 656-7952

I would call or better yet go there in person.

ceehound619 09-27-2007 12:31 AM

Originally Posted by Uturn2001:
Out of the ones you listed Gordon would be the way to go.

Have you applied with ABF. They hire and train new drivers.