Trucker Forum - Trucking & Driving Forums - Class A Drivers

Trucker Forum - Trucking & Driving Forums - Class A Drivers (https://www.classadrivers.com/forum/)
-   New Truck Drivers: Get Help Here (https://www.classadrivers.com/forum/new-truck-drivers-get-help-here-102/)
-   -   How is flatbed freight right now? (https://www.classadrivers.com/forum/new-truck-drivers-get-help-here/25757-how-flatbed-freight-right-now.html)

pogo379 03-20-2007 05:36 PM

How is flatbed freight right now?

Are the flatbedders getting plenty of work right now? I have been a local driver for 2 years now. I make $38k a year which is pretty well maxed out for my company. I have always wanted to try flatbedding, maybe maverick or TMC. Are they going to want me to go thru cdl school again and what's a realistic pay amount to expect from one of these two companies. I know maverick has $52k on their website but I know better than come to expect that. I have driven 8, 9, 10, 13, 18 and automatics. Never any accidents and one speeding ticket a year and a half ago. Thanks

Jimbpard 03-20-2007 06:47 PM

I drive local for an owner operater who runs 3 trucks (mine included), and we are a dedicated hauler for a rebar plant out of Pittsburgh. Its been pretty bad since Christmast, but has recently started to pick up decently in the past month. I still dont think I've had a 40 hour week in months though. Been hittin 32-38 hrs/wk all this month pretty much.
But like I said, we only haul rebar for 1 particular place. I'm sure if we would be willing to take other freight, it would be there.

03-20-2007 07:49 PM

I'm not sure if this helps but I work for myself with my own authority and have no problems finding flatbed loads. It really started to pick up this week with spring coming also.

Useless 03-20-2007 11:04 PM

Based upon what I know, the "Skate Board" sector is rather FLAT!! :P
:oops: :oops: :oops:

pogo379 03-21-2007 05:56 AM

well darn, I guess I had better wait then

inmate1577 03-21-2007 10:21 AM