Trucker Forum - Trucking & Driving Forums - Class A Drivers

Trucker Forum - Trucking & Driving Forums - Class A Drivers (https://www.classadrivers.com/forum/)
-   New Truck Drivers: Get Help Here (https://www.classadrivers.com/forum/new-truck-drivers-get-help-here-102/)
-   -   Career Transition to OTR Trucking (https://www.classadrivers.com/forum/new-truck-drivers-get-help-here/22828-career-transition-otr-trucking.html)

Rookie McRookerson 12-06-2006 07:34 AM

Career Transition to OTR Trucking

I found this web site a couple weeks ago. I've been hooked ever since :!: I must say I found some of the information discouraging. I understand why so many in the industry would discourage family persons from this career field. I guess I am looking for some feedback from experienced truckers considering my situation.

I am a 50 year old male. I have worked in my current career field for 25 years and for the past 10 years I've been a mid manager. I have been miserable in my job for the past 2 years. My wife and I are divorcing and our kids are grown and on their own. I found myself no longer chained to my desk with mortgage payments and family responsibilities. I have found money and stuff doesn't buy happiness. I'm okay with making less money. I want to drive otr. I love driving, always have. I have always been facinated with trucks.

So many posts are very negative. They talk about slave labor, poor pay, abusive driver managers, walking through urine, etc. Yet they themselves continue to drive. I don't know if these are people who never have anything positive to say, or if they are burned out and can't make the decision to get out of the industry.

At 50 I find myself foot loose and fancy free, so to speak. I have no ties that bind me. I can be out on the road without nagging a driver manager for home time.

Is this job that bad? Is there no job satisfaction? Is it the vocal minority who post all the negative comments or is it really that bad out there?