Trucker Forum - Trucking & Driving Forums - Class A Drivers

Trucker Forum - Trucking & Driving Forums - Class A Drivers (https://www.classadrivers.com/forum/)
-   New Truck Drivers: Get Help Here (https://www.classadrivers.com/forum/new-truck-drivers-get-help-here-102/)
-   -   College grad wants job as trucker (https://www.classadrivers.com/forum/new-truck-drivers-get-help-here/21155-college-grad-wants-job-trucker.html)

Beef 10-07-2006 02:22 AM

College grad wants job as trucker

Greetings,
I know many has probably seen a million of these type of posts...
I graduated with a degree in 04, not thrilled with the job market my dad and I started doing home improvement, now we are thinking of making that transition to lawn care...never the less I really like the idea of driving a truck. Currently I do part time seafood deliveries and really enjoy doing it. I know you guys get sick of hearing these questions, but I would really like to hear some answers?

Number one, very broad, but what would be the first thing you would do if you were me and wanted to drive a truck?

Any reccomendations at all?

Do you enjoy what you do?

This is kind of funny, but I have a huge phobia of going to the doctors and getting a physical...havent had one in probably close to 10 years...what does the dot consist of? Since I know my doctor, is there anyway he would just fill on the info out without doing the actual test?

Thanks a million and any reccomendations or thoughts would be great!
God Bless 8)

Skywalker 10-07-2006 02:34 AM

I am going to assume that you are on the younger side...maybe in your late 20's or early 30's....and that you have a college degree.

If this is true, then frankly....stop looking at trucking and get busy finding a job commensurate with your education. If you don't...you will have effectively "pissed away" 4 years of your life and many thousands of dollars spent to get that education.

If you do this, at this stage in your life, you will regret it.