User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-06-2011, 08:10 AM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Low wages, high danger. Is trucking really worth it?

I currently have a CDL but haven't been behind the wheel since 2007...this was with Swift and I was a trainee. Over the last four years, I have been looking for work (from electrician to courier to import agent at a Japanese freight forwarding company), and have managed to get a few temporary jobs, but nothing permanant. The economy has been harsh!

Over the last few days, I've been considering going back to school for a refresher here in CA so I can get a job as an OTR truck driver (as none of the local/LTL guys seem to want to hire people straight out of school). But after reading several posts on here, it looks like trucking just isn't worth it paywise:

25 cents per mile x 50 miles per hour average x 90% x 70 hours per week / (40 hours + 20 hours *150% + 10 hours*200%) = $8.75 per hour

Here's what went into this equation.

25 cents per mile = starting wage with most of the big training companies
50 miles per hour average = average driving speed (includes EVERYTHING like traffic, drop/PU at consignee/shipper, fueling up, taking a shower,...)
90% = Household Goods miles (they're about 10% under what you are supposed to get)

70 hours per week / (40 hours + 20 hours *150% + 10 hours*200%) = in California, you're supposed to get time and a half for hours worked over 40 and doubletime for hours worked over 60. So this is used to compensate for the fact that there's no overtime when you're paid CPM.

To me, $8.75 is way waaaaaay too little money to drive an 18-wheeled monster loaded to 80,000 pounds in sometimes dangerous conditions and with violations threatening to take $1000s of dollars away from your salary, and this, for me, was enough for me to keep looking.
Old 11-06-2011, 02:36 PM
Senior Board Member