User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-12-2009, 02:59 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default $52/80% Meal Allowance Deductible WITHOUT Itemizing?

Hello, I'm a wannabe trucker with a tip about the $52 daily meal allowance, now deductible at 80%,
or $41.60 per day that a (HOS-limited) trucker is away overnight.

With all due respect to such informative guys as the Rev. Vassago: I believe the $41.60 daily
deduction can be taken WITHOUT itemizing on Form 1040 (I believe he, and others, have stated
that you must itemize to take it).

If I am not mistaken, Line 24 of the Federal Form 1040 allows Form 2106 or Form 2106EZ
entries, without itemizing.

Furthermore, Line 5 (Part 1) of Form 2106EZ specifically mentions the meal allowance for DOT
workers subject to the HOS limits,
and allows an entry there!

Therefore I conclude that the $41.60 daily deduction (for all overnight OTR work) can be listed
on Form 2106 or 2106EZ, and deducted from gross income on Line 24 of Form 1040.

I have, during my former career as a CAD (Computer Aided Design) designer on two aerospace
jobs in 2007 and 2008, sucessfully taken this deduction without challenge. I was taking 50%
of the standard $39 daily rate because I was not a "transportation industry" worker subject to
HOS limits. But as I stated above, those workers -- you truckers, soon I hope to say we
truckers -- are specifically mentioned on Form 2106EZ.

So take that $41.60 per overnight-duty day whether OR NOT you itemize!

If I have misread the rule, Rev (or anyone else), please inform me. I'm not trying to claim to
be an expert on this, but I have done my own taxes for 37 years with only one audit.

Comments, corrections, expressions of everlasting gratitude?....:lol:

Last edited by cybergod; 09-12-2009 at 03:10 PM.
Old 09-12-2009, 05:13 PM
Board Icon

Quote:
Originally Posted by cybergod View Post
Hello, I'm a wannabe trucker with a tip about the $52 daily meal allowance, now deductible at 80%,