User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-04-2008, 12:02 AM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default New driver buying truck

Hello everyone,

I am a new driver and I want to buy my own truck. Someone said no company will let me drive under their company, because I am a new driver. That person said I would have to get insurance under a company. Is this true ? wouldn't i be able to buy my own ?
Old 03-04-2008, 12:21 AM
Senior Board Member

Can you get insurance on your own? Most likely, but it would also probably be quite expensive and there is also a good chance the insurance company may only insure you within a certain radius of your house.

Also most companies will not lease on truck where the driver has little or no experience.

The truly smart move would be to go to work somewhere as a company driver for at least 1 year though 2 would be better. After that time you will have a better understanding of the industry, will have a lot more opportunities, especially for the higher paying gigs, and insurance will not eat away at whatever profits you might make. Also use that time to shore up your financial situation.
Old 03-04-2008, 12:48 AM
Senior Board Member

Now...UT..You know that there are any number of trucking companies out there, that would be more than happy to "sell" the man a truck, put it under "fleece"lease, or whatever the current pc name for it is called.
Old 03-04-2008, 12:59 AM
Administrator
Site Admin
Board Icon

If you want to buy your own truck you will need to either lease to a carrier or get your own authority. Until you have a year or two experience, insurance will be expensive. Most carriers want to see at least 6 months to 1 year experience, minimum. You would be much better off driving for a carrier as a company driver for a couple of years. You will have many more options available to you.
Old 03-04-2008, 01:04 AM
BANNED

Quote:
Originally Posted by GMAN