User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-14-2014, 11:25 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default New guy: Looking to get CDL-A...clean driving record, veteran, no job hopping, etc.

I'm a veteran with only two full time employers over the past 13 years. I was in the military for six years (honorable discharge), finished up my degree over the next two years, and then spent a little over five years with one employer. I've driven large buses in the past as an extra duty, so I do have some experience operating larger vehicles. I have had no issues with the law and I have a clean driving record. From what I've been reading, the consistent work history and clean driving record are big pluses in my favor.

I've been toying with the idea of getting a CDL-A for some time as it would be a big departure from what I've been doing for the past several years (desk job). As luck would have it...the local CDL school has a full-time class starting up in a week. This class would be 100% paid for with the remainder of my G.I. bill. I've got a friend that went to this school and they helped him with job placement (they had him lined up for a job when he graduated), so I'm confident that this school will be a good route for me to go.

My question for you...what would be a good option for me, in terms of carriers (i.e. Northern Virginia and East Tennessee)? I would like to make decent money, but I've been around long enough to known that things like benefits and spending time at home are of more importance to me...so I won't be focused strictly on the base salary. I would like to get setup with a company that values their employees. By that, I mean a company that has an "environment" that would encourage someone like myself to stick around for a while. I'm not afraid of hard work, but it is important to be to be part of an organization that values its people. I would appreciate any advice that you might be able to offer. Thank you.