User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-14-2007, 11:50 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Do I want to drive again??

Hi all:

Been lurking around a bit and trying to gain a feel for the industry and I have to say I've been just about talked out of giving it a try again. So I'll just ask a few questions and see if I can be pushed one way or the other once and for all.
I graduated driving school in 1991. Drove for Builders Transport Flat Bad right out of school. around a year later I changed to Digby and went that route for around a year or so. Then I moved to entertainer coaches out of Nashville. At the time Buses were not regulated so it was nothing to do 700, 800 miles a night to get to shows. After about two years of this I was worn out and just fell out. Could not deal with the miles and hours, it was killing me.

At this point I wanted nothing to do with driving so instead of going back to a truck I went back to mechanic work and opened my own Boat shop on the local lake. In this field I still got my fill of hauling strange and fragle oversize loads around the lakes and in and out of the water with my own trucks.
in 96 I let my CDL expire as I was not using it and shortly after sold my business and went to work for another boat shop. Well around 02 I busted my neck and had to have a couple disk replaced with medical hardware. I got over it and went back to work and did well after proper recovery time. Now I sit in my computer room in recovery again. I just had the lower part of my spine rebuilt in June of 07, Yes 3 month ago!!
The Neuro Surgen that did both jobs on me says I will be good as new in a couple more months ans I will be able to work at anything I want other than "olimpic weight lifting" his exact words LOL!!