User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-22-2007, 11:33 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Question for the recruitors.......

.....and for whoever else may want to comment. I was wondering where do I fall in the hiring process. Let me explain. I have been driving trucks for aprox. 25 years now. My first 10 years of driving was OTR. I then switched to local construction truck driving. I was considering going back into OTR cause I'm divorced now...kids are grown...etc. I have applied at a few companies and have talked to a few recruitors. But they all keep saying that I need 2-3 years of recent OTR in order to be considered for employment. Now I have been driving trucks for 25 years, in all kinds of weather conditions, hauling loads up 105, 500 gross weight. And although I havent been driving OTR for awhile...I don't think it has changed that drastically. I find it hard to believe that a company would rather hire a driver fresh out of driving school over a person, such as myself, who has numerous years of experience even though it isnt "recent" OTR
Old 07-22-2007, 11:46 PM
Senior Board Member

Realisticly, this is where common logic flies out the window.

Has much changed in 25yrs?? Some things have, others have not.

In any event, it's not just a matter of company policies at issue here, but also requirements from the insurance underwritters. Most likely, you'll have to go through a training process with the large companies, where they'll run you as a team for slave wages. There is also a very strong likelyhood that you will have forgotten more than your "trainer" ever knew in the 1st place.

Yeah, it sucks, but with a few weeks out on the road, and a little time to learn about how things operate at the new company, you'll be ready to fly again!!

BOL2U!!
Old 07-23-2007, 12:13 AM
Senior Board Member