User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-13-2007, 12:41 AM
Senior Board Member
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default PrePass not blinking/beeping?

I'm not a "new driver," but I'm new to PrePass.

Monday, red light. Tuesday, red light. Wednesday, no light. Thursday, no light. The last two days, not a peep out of my PrePass at all.

I normally only run across the scale maybe two out of five days, and sometimes I get the green light all five days.

This is really weird, and I'm wondering if something might be wrong with the blue plastic thing stuck in my windshield. Maybe the batteries are dead. I don't think I can change them, and I guess maybe I need to swap it out for another unit.

Or maybe I'm going too fast, or too slow, or too close behind another truck or something. Both of the last two days, I was down to maybe 45-50 from slowing down to let some truck out at the exit just before the scale, trying to keep a big gap, but not able to keep as much as I wanted without slowing to a crawl, under the circumstances.

I don't like to go under the little tower when I'm in the left lane, because I always get a red light when I do, and I don't like to go under the little tower faster than 65 mph (in a 70) because I always get a red light when I do. So I stay right, and stay at 65 or less, and usually get a green.

But not this week. O Green Where Art Thou?
Old 07-13-2007, 01:16 AM
Administrator
Site Admin
Board Icon

If you don't get any sort of light, you always go into the scale. I doubt if you have anything wrong with the prepass. Those batteries last a long time.
Old 07-13-2007, 01:17 AM
Senior Board Member

There should be a test button on the pre-pass. Push it and if it runs through the cycle of beeps and lights then the unit is fine. If nothing happens then yes you will need to get it swapped out.

Scale houses can turn off the pre-pass system if they want to.
Old 07-13-2007, 01:20 AM
Senior Board Member