User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-02-2006, 05:02 AM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default trouble shifting a mack 10 speed

Hi there, so im new to truck driving(1 month) i decided to change careers after 15 years in construction. Its great and Im loving it. My problem is with the truck Im driving. Its a 2002 granite mack dump truck, with a 10 speed transmission. It goes Lo 1-2-3-4-5 low range select high range 6-7-8-9-10. The problem is when I have a full load with a pony trailer. I can shift through all the gears from 1 up to 10 on any hill no problem as long as the hill will allow me to start in 1st. When the hill is to steep and I need to start in low I cant get it to shift from lo to 1st. In all the other gears I take it up to 1800rpm shift slide it in at 1600rpm. Now the only way I can do it from lo to first is to take it up to 1800 shift(with the jake on) so it drops down to 1000rpm and it goes in to gear, but now the rpm and the steepness of the hill, and the weight of the load are too much for 1st gear and the truck either almost stalls or I have to stop and start off in low gear again. This is very frustrating when your only a few car lengths back from a light and it takes 2 lights to get through the intersection(not to mention it sure makes the people behind you mad) So what am I doing wrong? please help a newbie out :cry:
Old 10-02-2006, 07:29 AM
Senior Board Member

Sounds to me like the rpm are WAY to high and the truck is almost back to a dead stop when you try for 1st? You should try a little progressive shifting and keep the rpm in the low gears a lot lower. the key to this is to get the truck rolling and really shifting QUICKLY when the rpm are falling. You need the clutch and VERY little rpm to shift from low to 1st, but you really have to get into gear quickly.

The problem with raising the rpms that high at that low a road speed is that all of your momentum (road speed) dies while you are waiting for the rpms to drop.