User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-01-2009, 08:28 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Recent Grad

Hello I was woundering if any one had any advise on getting a job I graduated June 9 2009 I had a pre hire with Roelh and I recently found out I had diabeates. My doctor and there doctor both cleared me to drive and gave me my dot certificate still they said I was disquafied to drive for them. And now I can't find anything My school was 6 weeks Mon-Thur 8am to 5pm and 192 hours.If any one has a suggestion I really could use it. Thank you.
Old 07-04-2009, 04:51 PM
Rookie
Default Same boat

Ya, I just graduated June 15th with all my endorsments. :deal: I cant even get a pre hire though. That really sucks that even after you were cleared by the doc's that they dropped you! Anyhow good luck on finding a job. I only hope the best for us new graduates!:toilet:
Old 07-14-2009, 10:32 AM
Rookie
Default That's discrimination

Is there anything in the legal department that you can do against them.
I mean if the dr. says your ok to drive, it should be ok, I mean you still need to eat and pay bills even though you have diabetes right?
That's not right, I feel you man, I've been struggling for the last 2 months to get a job, I just graduated too, May 15th.
Best of luck, bro:thumbsup:
Old 07-15-2009, 11:00 PM

It does not matter if a doctor cleared a driver or not. The company doesn't know the qualifications of the doctor or chiropractor that cleared your medical card they could be a quack for all they know and most are. A driver must pass company qualifications and if it is written in the company's policy that they cannot hire drivers with diabetes or other pre existing medical conditions then so be it. If your insulin dependent then you can kiss any driving job good bye. Anymore you have to be semi healthy to drive a truck. Your best bet is to look into smaller local regional companies.
Old 07-18-2009, 07:12 PM
Senior Board Member