User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-24-2015, 06:03 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default I'm a female studying to take CDL.

Ladies I'm currently a Surgical Tech been doing so for 22yrs. I want a career change. I come from a line of truckers. My dad and both brothers use to drive over the road. Dad no longer with us, brothers have taken on different careers. I'm 51yrs old who rides Harleys and love driving since i was 14yrs old. I'm leaving my job of 18yrs due to burn out. I want a job thats out doors and will allow me to travel. Kids are grown and living out of state. I guess my question to the lady drivers. Is 51 to old to begin a trucking career?? I see plenty of job listings looking for drivers and i see the $$ is not bad. Just looking for some feed back. Ive been reading a CDL study book i picked up from the DMV and taking the practice test online. I really would like some infomation regarding women on the road as a trucker. Thanks Ladies. Hope to get some feed back soon.
Old 01-24-2015, 08:31 PM
Senior Board Member

I've been called a lot of thing but never a lady! Lot more guy's around here then women as this is still "a man's job". 51 isn't to old for this but with that in mind you might not even consider flatbeds or even some tank jobs cause the heavy hoses. I recommend hooking up with a good dry van company that does not expect drivers to load/unload, that way you can concentrate on safe driving and not so much worrying about reefer temps or straps and chains ect. After awhile if you want to get into that kinda thing then you got the driving down pat.
Just a quick FYI about getting along out here, lots of guys will be looking at you if you dress and act like a professional driver most will treat like one on the other hand if you dress and act flirty they'll treat you like a lot lizard.
Hope you do well and good luck.