Trucker Forum - Trucking & Driving Forums - Class A Drivers

Trucker Forum - Trucking & Driving Forums - Class A Drivers (https://www.classadrivers.com/forum/)
-   We Make a Great Team (https://www.classadrivers.com/forum/we-make-great-team-12/)
-   -   Considering Team Driving...Pros & Cons (https://www.classadrivers.com/forum/we-make-great-team/23895-considering-team-driving-pros-cons.html)

mapleleaf_1 01-15-2007 12:50 AM

Considering Team Driving...Pros & Cons

o.k. people here's the thing. I'm considering trying team driving. I've never done it before. I've been OTR on my own for 6 years. I'd appreciate input from all you drivers. Pros & cons about teaming. No BS please. Thanks. Drive safe everyone.

nightprwlr 01-16-2007 12:01 AM

Teaming

It depends who you team with,how long you can be around them. Respect each others sleep time and try and drive "softly". Driving techniques matter tome anyhow if it's your truck and you have to pay to fix it.
I think I could never team with anyone other than a significant other. Sharing showers and sleeping together that means a lot seriously. Unless you're look ing for someone to team up with to make money then it might be different. I always ran team w/wife(now ex) or my g/f,which I taught them both how to drive and that alone was a nightmare j/k. We pulled flats so it made adifference as far as both loading etc. made it a "team" effort. Plus getting home wasn't a priority when you're together you can stop and "vacation" anywhere. Making money was the most important thing.
The worse part of it all is getting adjusted to sleeping going while the truck is moving. Trying to find husband/wife showers at some places was a bear sometimes.
I hope some of this might help.
Good Luck!

mapleleaf_1 01-16-2007 12:31 AM