User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-09-2007, 01:29 PM
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default School Attitudes

I have been reading and hearing alot about different schools across the country. I have to wonder what it is with the attitude of most. Seems that most schools are very strict and militaristic in the way they operate. IE:
DO NOT be late, you'll get booted
Call all Instructors MR. Smith, etc
Yelled at by "instructors" when not quite getting something

They seem to forget YOU are the customer paying for their service. Is this indicative of the trucking industry?

Don't get me wrong, I am not "whining". I can tolerate about anything, had a career in the military. Been there, done that, don't need that to make me perform. In fact I would guess it has the opposite of the desired effect on most people.

I have been an instructor in the motorcycle world, and would NEVER dream of yelling at a student struggling, that makes a bad situation worse. Late? Yes, if we have already covered an hour of material in a 4 hour class, they need to reschedule, but they CAN reschedule, not just sent home. MR Roadie? Nahh, a relaxed environment is a better learning environment. Besides, I am no better than my students, not on a pedestal above them and no need to prove it.

Yes, I am in a school right now, very relaxed atmosphere, very respective of their students, they make allowances and work with students to get them thru.

There is a choice, maybe some schools should realize that.

Cheers
Old 10-09-2007, 09:03 PM

Roadie

Even among different schools of the same chain, attitudes can vary wildly. Some of it just comes down to different attitudes. I too have a background in the military and have trained hundreds of folks in other endeavors, not truck driving. Its the same though.

As a former cop and combat veteran, I believe its a macho thing with some. Justifies their vision of themselves.