User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-20-2006, 04:12 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default CDL Mills-What's the point if you still need same training?

I am about to start attending my local CDL Mill (Smith & Solomon). From what I can tell, all the comanies that hire newbies (Schneider, Swift, etc) send newbies away for the same training whether they graduate a CDL Mill or not. This brings up two questions.
Is there any reason to attend a CDL Mill? The only reason I can think of is that it might increase my chances of getting hired by a company.
If I graduate a CDL Mill and get sent away for training by a company (hopefully Schneider), would it still be tuition based where I'm under 18-month contract, etc. or would it be different?
Old 06-01-2006, 01:12 PM
Rookie

as a total novice,do i understand that if i pay to get my cdl i'm going to have to pay for company training to? I'd assume you need training and orientation but not the course fee of complete program?
Old 06-01-2006, 05:03 PM

NOTE I start class on tuesday and am not a truck driver yet. The way i see it is if you get your CDL on your own that opens more doors for you.

Sure there are companies that will someone without a cdl (ie SNI, swift, Roehl, CRST, etc) but WITH a cdl your choice go up greatly. Several companies hire 0 experience people WITH a cdl. I've heard better things about these companies, and you don't owe them your soul.

not sure whether or not you have to contract sign with SNI if you already have your CDL...if you do though i would have to say hell no to that. No way i am going to pay for school, then work at crappy wages to pay off school i've already paid for.

thus is my take

PS "IT'S A TWAP!!"
Ackbar is the shiznit
Old 06-01-2006, 07:41 PM
Senior Board Member

I got my CDL on my own. It allowed me to be more choosy about who to work with. If you go through company program for CDL their gonna teach you their way.