Trucker Forum - Trucking & Driving Forums - Class A Drivers

Trucker Forum - Trucking & Driving Forums - Class A Drivers (https://www.classadrivers.com/forum/)
-   Truck Driving Jobs: What About This Trucking Company? (https://www.classadrivers.com/forum/truck-driving-jobs-what-about-trucking-company-15/)
-   -   Slip seating (https://www.classadrivers.com/forum/truck-driving-jobs-what-about-trucking-company/35562-slip-seating.html)

jmazz 09-16-2008 02:03 AM

Slip seating

I am new to the business. Can someone explain to me what "slip seating" means? Thanks.
Jmazz

Jumbo 09-16-2008 02:10 AM

That means you don't have your own truck. Two drivers may share one truck or you might turn the key on a different truck everytime you go to work

jmazz 09-16-2008 02:24 AM

Thanks for the quick reply. Hopefully I'll learn to speak the language sometime soon.
Mazz

Jumbo 09-16-2008 02:30 AM

No problem. Any more questions just ask. That is what we are here for, To answer questions and make fun of people

INKTOXICATED 11-09-2008 01:10 AM

We slip seat at my job. But it goes like this. Im schedule to work from 4am-4pm. Usually im done at 1-2iish. My partner comes in and is scheduled to work 4pm-4am. Hes done around midnight. So i use the same truck everyday. Problem is i clean the **** out of it and even polished the tanks and my partner is on the scumbag side and dosent keep it up. Its ok tho. Lots of waiting to get unloaded so plenty of time to clean the truck when ur on the clock :) if u slip seat and get a diff truck everyday, thats the worst. Most likely every truck in the yard is a pos and dirty as sin. Its all to save money

Jackrabbit379 11-09-2008 05:03 AM

Well, you can have a truck that's wore out, and still be cleaned up. I've seen some newer trucks that are filthy. There's no sense in not keeping a truck cleaned.