Thread: Slip seating

jmazz is offline Rookie

Default Slip seating

I am new to the business. Can someone explain to me what "slip seating" means? Thanks.
    Jmazz

Jumbo is offline Senior Board Member

That means you don't have your own truck. Two drivers may share one truck or you might turn the key on a different truck everytime you go to work
    Don't trust anybody. Especially that guy in the mirror.

jmazz is offline Rookie

Thanks for the quick reply. Hopefully I'll learn to speak the language sometime soon.
    Mazz

Jumbo is offline Senior Board Member

No problem. Any more questions just ask. That is what we are here for, To answer questions and make fun of people
    Don't trust anybody. Especially that guy in the mirror.

We slip seat at my job. But it goes like this. Im schedule to work from 4am-4pm. Usually im done at 1-2iish. My partner comes in and is scheduled to work 4pm-4am. Hes done around midnight. So i use the same truck everyday. Problem is i clean the **** out of it and even polished the tanks and my partner is on the scumbag side and dosent keep it up. Its ok tho. Lots of waiting to get unloaded so plenty of time to clean the truck when ur on the clock if u slip seat and get a diff truck everyday, thats the worst. Most likely every truck in the yard is a pos and dirty as sin. Its all to save money

Jackrabbit379 is offline Board Icon

Well, you can have a truck that's wore out, and still be cleaned up. I've seen some newer trucks that are filthy. There's no sense in not keeping a truck cleaned.

I slip seat myself. Our daytime guys that deliver drive the same trucks that I drive every night. Only thing is, I dont drive the same truck every night. I take in whichever truck is lowest on fuel, and when I get to our warehouse, I fuel the truck, etc..

Orangetxguy is offline Senior Board Member

Quote Originally Posted by INKTOXICATED View Post